Stem Cells:  Saving Lives or Crossing Lines (November 20-21, 2004)
HomeSpeakersProgram (Day 1)Program (Day 2)Maps & LinksContact Us

Confirmed Speakers

  • James F. Battey, M.D., Ph.D., the Director of the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders and the Chair of the Stem Cell Task Force at the National Institutes of Health
  • Robert Bazell, Chief Health and Science Correspondent, NBC News
  • Richard R. Behringer, Ph.D., Professor and Deputy Chair, Department of Molecular Genetics, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • William R. Brinkley, Ph.D., Senior Vice President for Graduate Sciences and Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Baylor College of Medicine
  • C. Thomas Caskey, M.D., Managing Director, Cogene Ventures, Ltd.
  • Richard E. Champlin, M.D., Chairman, Department of Blood and Marrow Transplantation, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Jose B. Cibelli, D.V.M., Ph.D., Professor of Animal Biotechnology, Michigan State University, and Head of Cellular Reprogramming Laboratory, Department of Animal Science and Physiology
  • Eric Cohen, Director of the Biotechnology & American Democracy Program, Ethics and Public Policy Center
  • Elizabeth Cohen, Medical Correspondent, Health and Medical Unit, CNN
  • Robert F. Curl, Ph.D., Kenneth S. Pitzer Schlumberger Professor of Natural Sciences and University Professor, Department of Chemistry, Rice University
  • Steven Currall, Ph.D., William and Stephanie Sick Professor of Entrepreneurship, Associate Professor of Management, Psychology, and Statistics at the Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Management, and Founding Director of the Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship, Rice University
  • The Honorable Edward P. Djerejian, Founding Director, James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy, Rice University
  • Rebecca Dresser, Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law and Professor of Ethics in Medicine, Washington University and member of the President's Council on Bioethics
  • Gregory Glover, M.D., Partner, Ropes & Gray LLC.
  • Steven A. Goldman, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chief, Division of Cell and Gene Therapy, Attending Neurologist and Dean-Zutes Chair in the Aging Brain, Department of Neurology, University of Rochester Medical Center
  • Lawrence S.B. Goldstein, Ph.D., Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
  • Rome J. Hartman, Producer for 60 Minutes, CBS News
  • Vivian Ho, Ph.D., James A. Baker III Institute Chair of Health Economics, Associate Professor, Department of Economics, Rice University and Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Neal F. Lane, Ph.D., Edward A. and Hermena Hancock Kelly University Professor of Physics & Astronomy and Senior Fellow, Science and Technology Policy, James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy, Rice University
  • Suzi Leather, Chair, Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority (HFEA), UK
  • President David W. Leebron, President, Rice University
  • Mary Anderlik Majumder, J.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine, Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Stephen Minger, Ph.D., Lecturer and Director of the Stem Cell Laboratory, King's College, London
  • Ferid Murad, M.D., Ph.D., John S. Dunn Distinguished Chair in Physiology and Medicine, the Chairman of the Department of Integrative Biology and Pharmacology, and the Director of the Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
  • Matthew Nisbet, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, School of Communication, Ohio State University
  • Thomas Okarma, M.D., Ph.D., CEO and President, Geron Corporation
  • Lord Naren Patel, Chair of the UK Stem Cell Steering Committee
  • Professor Dame Julia M. Polak, Professor of Endocrine Pathology, Imperial College, London
  • John A. Robertson, Vinson and Elkins Chair, University of Texas School of Law at Austin
  • Terry Shepard, Vice President of Public Affairs at Rice University
  • Bernard Siegel, Executive Director, Genetics Policy Institute
  • Debora Spar, Ph.D., Spangler Family Professor, Harvard Business School and Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Recruiting
  • Peter Van Etten, President & CEO, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International
  • James T. Willerson, Ph.D., President and the Edward Randall III Chair in Internal Medicine, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, Chief of Cardiology, St. Luke's Hospital, and President-Elect and Medical Director, Texas Heart Institute
  • Mary Woolley, President, Research!America
Rice University UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center UT Health Science Center Houston Baylor College of Medicine James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center UT Health Science Center Houston Baylor College of Medicine