Recent News

January 6, 2016: Congratulations! Dr. Varun Shenoy Gangoli successfully defended his PhD dissertation on "An Investigation of Carbon-based Nanomaterials for Efficient Energy Production and Delivery.”

December 15-16, 2015: Prof. Wong co-organized with Dr. Conrad Zhang (DICP, China), and Dr. Soon Yong Jeong (KRICT, S. Korea) the symposium "Water-phase Catalysis for Energy and Chemicals Production” at Pacifichem 2015. (link)(flyer)

December, 2015: Ms. Sophia Grossweiler (CHBE major, HHMI SER Scholar) joins our group. Welcome!

November, 2015: We welcome Ms. Chelsea Clark (NSF Fellow) and Mr. Jake Lobb (Coast Guard Post Graduate School - Engineering Program Fellow) into our group as first-year Chemical Engineering graduate students!

August 10, 2015: NSF announces the launch of NEWT (Nanotechnology Enabled Water Treatment), an ERC led by Rice University! Prof. Wong leads the research thrust on multifunctional catalytic/sorbent materials for selective decontamination. (link1)(link2)

June 2015: Mr. Welman Elias (UFSC, Science without Border Program Fellow) joins our Group as a visiting PhD student scholar. Welcome!

May 2015: Li and Ciceron were selected to attend the next CENTC 2015 Summer School, to be held at U. Washington (Seattle) in July 2015. Congrats!

April 2015: Ben Yin was selected to participate in the ACS Summer School on Green Chemistry and Sustainable Energy, to be held at Colorado School of Mines in June. Nice!

April 24, 2015: Professor Wong received the 2015 Award for Excellence in Applied Catalysis from the Southwest Catalysis Society! (link)

March 2015: Dr. Ciceron Ayala-Orozco (Chemistry PhD ’15; advisor: Prof. Halas) joins our group as a postdoctoral research associate. Welcome!

February 2015: Ms. Priscilla Dias da Silva (Brazilian Scientific Mobility Program Fellow) joins our Group as a MEng student in Chemical Engineering. Welcome!

January 2015: Professor Wong begins his term as Vice-chair for the Division of Catalysis Science & Technology (CATL) of ACS. (link)

January 2015: A fun RSC blog read about journal covers and our group’s October 2014 Chemical Science cover. (link)

December 2014: Ms. Li Chen receives the 2014 Kobayashi Fellowship Award in Chemical Engineering, given annually for the best PhD thesis proposal. Congratulations!

November 2014: Our Group welcomes 3 new Chemical Engineering graduate students: Ms. Yan Xu, Ms. Camilah Powell, and Mr. Ben Yin. Welcome!

September 19, 2014: Congratulations! We are very proud of our latest Chemical Engineering PhD graduate, Dr. Zhun Zhao. He successfully defended his thesis research on "Catalytic Oxidation Properties of Palladium-decorated Gold Nanoparticles."

September 2014: Zhun's article "Volcano-shape glycerol oxidation activity of palladium-decorated gold nanoparticles" was chosen as a cover article for the October issue of Chemical Science. Congrats!

August 2014: Ms. Sujin Guo joins our Group as a PhD candidate in Environmental Engineering. Welcome!

July 1, 2014: Prof. Wong became Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department.

June 2014: We welcome into our Group Dr. Mayank Gupta (LSU, PhD) as a postdoctoral research associate!

March 2014: Dr. Zhen Wang (Zhejiang University, PhD) joins our group as our newest postdoctoral research associate. Welcome!

March 2014: Zhun received a very competitive award from the China Scholarship Council ("Chinese Government Award For Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad"). Excellent! (link)

January 2014: We welcome Sarah Munday, Wilfred So, Karim De Vol, and Peter Milling (all CHBE'ers) to the group this Spring!

December 13, 2013: Sravani Gullapalli successfully defended her Chemical Engineering PhD thesis on "Advanced Synthesis Techniques and Characterization of Functional Semiconductor Nanomaterials" Congratulations!

October 3, 2013: Our Scientific Reports paper led by Prof. Biswal ("Inexpensive Method for Producing Macroporous Silicon Particulates (MPSPs) with Pyrolyzed Polyacrylonitrile for Lithium Ion Batteries") was chosen to receive the Best Applied Paper in 2012 Award from the South Texas Section of AIChE!)

October 2013: Varun Shenoy Gangoli won the Best-in-Flight award (category: 'Engineering for Natural Resources') at the 2013 RCEL (Rice Center for Engineering Leadership) Screech elevator pitch competition. (link)

September 2013: Prof. Wong received an honorary guest professorship at the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (China).

September 2013: We welcome Ms. Olivia Tati (CHBE sophomore) into the group this Fall!

September 2013: We are delighted to have Dr. Marwan M. Batiha join our group as a Fulbright Scholar from Al-Hussein Bin Talal University (Jordan). Welcome!

August 2013: Zhun was selected to receive a CRE (Catalysis & Reaction Engineering) Division Travel Grant for the upcoming AIChE Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

August 2013: Dr. Huifeng Qian was awarded the 2013 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Prizes for Young Chemists. Congratulations!

July, 2013: We welcome Dr. Sivaram Pradham (University of Cardiff, PhD) as our newest postdoctoral research associate!

June, 2013: Zhun Zhao received the 2013 Richard J. Kokes Award for the 23rd North American Catalysis Society (NACS) meeting. Wonderful!

April 27, 2013: Zhun Zhao was recognized with a Best Poster Award (second time winner) for his poster presentation on "Hydrogen Generation from Formic acid at Room Temperature using Pd-on-Au Catalysts" at the 2013 Spring Symposium of the Southwest Catalysis Society. Congratulations!

May 11, 2013: Sumedh Warudkar was selected as the sole graduate student to receive the Neil deGrasse Tyson Commencement Speaker Award. Wonderful!

April 2013: Our very own Colin Shaw and his team received much attention for their work on 'space coffee.' Nicely done! (link)

April 15, 2013: Sumedh Warudkar successfully defended his Chemical Engineering PhD thesis on "Re-engineering the Alkanolamine Absorption Process to Economize Carbon Capture." Congratulations!

April 2013: Sumedh Warudkar has been recognized for his service to the university and to student life with two awards: the 2013 Sallyport Award and a Rice University Service Award. Congratulations!

April 2, 2013: Lori Pretzer successfully defended her Chemistry PhD thesis on "Synthesis, Structure, and Catalytic Properties of Versatile Au-Based Nanocatalysts." Congratulations!

February 2013: Zhun Zhao was awarded an Edgar O'Rear Travel Grant from the Rice IBB to attend the 23rd North American Catalysis Society Meeting. Congrats! (link)