Awards and Honors


Undergraduate Awards and Honors:
McCardell Scholarship, CHBE Department (Apoorv Bhargava)
Chevron Scholarship, CHBE Department (Apoorv Bhargava)
Outstanding Engineering Student Recognition Award, Texas Society of Professional Engineers (Apoorv Bhargava)
Louis J. Walsh Scholarship in Engineering, Brown School of Engineering (Apoorv Bhargava)
Rodd/Selman Scholarship in Engineering, CHBE Department (Apoorv Bhargava)
Arthur L. Draper Award, Chemistry Department (Amy Liu)
Arnold and Mabel Beckman Scholarship (Mark Pond)
Morris K. Udall Scholarship (Alison Takemura)
Century Scholarships
NREU Research Fellowships
Marshall Scholarship (Grant Belgard)
Schering-Plough Travel Grant (Grant Belgard)
National Institutes of Health Oxford/Cambridge (OXCAM) Scholarship (Grant Belgard)
RUSP Honors Research Fellowships
Engel Fellowship, Chemistry Department (Amy Liu)
Brown Undergraduate Research Internships
AGEP Summer Research Fellowship (Crystal Ramón)
Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium Poster Award (Jason Grider, Juyan Azhang)

Graduate Student Awards and Honors:
AIChE South Texas Section Best Fundamental Paper Award (Kimberly Heck)
Kobayashi Fellowship Award in Chemical Engineering, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (Shyam Benegal)
George Kozmetsky Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Nanotechnology, Nanotechnology Foundation of Texas (Vinit Murthy)
Associated Nanotechnology Congress Poster Presentation Award (Vinit Murthy, Subashini Asokan)
Micron Technology Prize for Best Oral Presentation, RQI Summer Research Colloquium (Vinit Murthy)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Applied Paper Award (Gautam Kini, Michael Nutt)
Southwest Catalysis Society Spring Symposium Best Poster Award (Michael Nutt, Kimberly Heck, Nikolaos Soultanidis, Lori Pretzer, Zhun Zhao(2))
AIChE Environmental Division Graduate Student Paper Award (Michael Nutt)
Chemical Engineering Department Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award (Benny Kadali, Michael Nutt, William Knowles, Sravani Gullapalli)
Harry B. Weiser Teaching Award, Chemistry Department (Lori Pretzer)
Harry B. Weiser Research Award, Chemistry Department (Subashini Asokan)
SPIE Educational Scholarship in Optical Science and Engineering (Subashini Asokan)
NanoDays CBEN Conference Poster Presentation Award (Subashini Asokan)
NSF IGERT Fellowship in Nanophotonics (Kimberly Heck, Quang Nguyen)
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department Graduate Student Research Symposium Poster Award (Jie Yu)
Kokes Student Travel Award (Yu-lun Fang, Kimberly Heck, Nikolaos Soultanidis, Zhun Zhao)
National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering (Yu-lun Fang)
Hellenic Professional Society of Texas Scholarship (Nikos Soultanidis)
Gerondelis Foundation Scholarship (Nikos Soultanidis)
ACS summer school on Green Chemistry and Sustainable Energy (Sravani Gullapalli, Zhun Zhao, Li Chen)
Chinese-American Chemical Society-Southwest Chapter Fall Meeting Best Poster Award (Yu-lun Fang, Zhun Zhao)
Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid Research Program Funding Award (Zhun Zhao)
Ken Kennedy Institute Research Nugget Competition Award (Zhun Zhao)
Edgar O'Rear Rice IBB Travel Award (Lori Pretzer, Zhun Zhao)

Post-doctoral Researcher Awards and Honors:
AIChE South Texas Section Best Applied Paper Award (Hitesh Bagaria)
Favorite Instructor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Award (Hitesh Bagaria)
NanoDays CBEN Conference Poster Presentation Award (Ammar Alkhawaldeh)

For Professor Wong:
Excellence in Applied Catalysis Award, North American Catalysis Society/Southwest Catalysis Society (2015)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Applied Paper in 2012 Award (2013)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Fundamental Paper in 2011 Award (2012)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Applied Paper in 2010 Award (2011)
Graduate Student Association Faculty Teaching/Mentoring Award (2011)
Simmons Family Foundation Research Award (2011)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Fundamental Paper in 2008 Award (2009)
IBB Hamill Innovations Award (2009)
IBB Medical Innovations Award (2008)
Smithsonian Magazine's '37 Under 36' Young Innovator Award (2007)
3M Non-tenured Faculty Award (2007)
GOLD 2006 Conference Best Presentation Award, for 'best new idea in gold catalysis' (2006)
AIChE South Texas Section Best Applied Paper in 2005 Award (2006)
AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum Young Investigator Award (2006)
MIT Technology Review's TR35 Young Innovator Award (2006)
Hershel M. Rich Invention Award (2006)
National Academy of Engineering Indo-America Frontiers of Engineering Symposium, Invited Speaker (2006)
3M Non-tenured Faculty Award (2006)
Smalley/Curl Innovation Award (2005)
National Academies Keck Futures Initiative (NAKFI) Symposium, Invited Participant (2004)
Oak Ridge Associated Universities Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award (2003)
National Academy of Engineering Japan-America Frontiers of Engineering (JAFOE) Symposium, Invited Participant (2002)
Rice Quantum Institute (RQI), Fellow (2002)
Robert P. Goldberg Grand Prize, MIT $50K Entrepreneurship Competition (2001)
Semifinalist, MIT $50K Entrepreneurship Competition (2000)
Union Carbide Student Innovation Recognition Award (2000)
4th IUMRS-ICA Conference Young Researcher Award (1997)
MIT Chemical Engineering Edward W. Merrill Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award (1997)