List of Vegetarian cheeses

According to the following cheese companies, these cheeses do not contain rennet or any other nonvegetarian enzymes:



(phone 1-800-558-7315)




Mid American Farms


all cheeses

Remember to check the ingredient list of the cheese if you're not sure. Look out for rennet or enzymes. Many packaged cheeses and other foods contain Vitamin A Palmitate, which is made from fish gelatin. Also, check for whey, since this is a byproduct of the cheese-making process.

Refer to the list of common animal ingredients for a more comprehensive list of things to avoid. If you have additional information or corrections to the above list, send email to

Thanks to alert reader Liz Wise for her recent update.