

It is one of the life's pleasures to be made aware of a worthy enterprise's success. The 40th anniversary of the quarterly dedicated to G.K. Chesterton and the ideas he espoused and propagated is one such pleasure.

Fr. Ian Boyd, the creator and *spiritus movens* behind the *Review* and the Chesterton Institute, and Managing Editor of *The Chesterton Review* and Associate Director of the G.K. Chesterton Institute Gloria Garafulich-Grabois have just published vols. 1 & 2 of the anniversary issue. As usual, they contain some less known essays by Chesterton, as well as other pieces that will delight the Anglophiles all over the world. There is as also a piece by Charles Péguy that will delight the Francophiles—all in the spirit of G. K. Chesterton who treasured the idea of roots. Come to think of it, a piece by an American Southern Agrarian would fit this issue perfectly.

Chesterton Review is of particular interest to Polonophiles as well. The Spring/Summer 2007 issue of the journal was dedicated to Poland. It contains Chesterton's texts on Poland, Dermot Quinn's penetrating article on how Polonophobia is manufactured, Gregory MacDonald's 1927 article on the resurrection of Poland in 1918, Fr. Douglas Milewski's remarks on Polish history, and James R. Thompson's review on J. T. Gross's Fear. One of the writers famously suggests that in the twenty-first century, hatred of Christianity often manifests itself as hatred of Poland.

Sarmatian Review congratulates Fr. Boyd and his staff and wishes Chesterton Review many more successful years.

For more information and to subscribe contact chestertoninstitute@shu.edu.

Thank You Note

Sarmatian Review and the Polish Institute of Houston are grateful to those readers who support the journal over and above the price of subscription. Without them it would be difficult to continue publication. Donations to Sarmatian Review and its publisher, the Polish Institute of Houston, are tax deductible. Here is the list of recent donors:

Professor Anthony Bukoski and Mrs. Elaine Bukoski; Dr. Joanna Rostropowicz Clark; Professor Ralph Frankowski and Mrs. Elizabeth Frankowski; Professor Richard J. Hunter, Jr.; Mr. Steven Kaminski; Professor Bogna Lorence-Kot; Drs. Waldemar and Teresa Priebe; Mr. G. Sierzant; Ms. Irena A. Szewiola; Mr. Kenneth W. Walpuck.