Julia C. Hester

Julia C. Hester has inspired generations of Houstonians through her story of community service. Mrs. Hester strongly believed in the power of education and engagement of neighborhood youth. To ensure the safety and education of the youth of the historic Fifth Ward, Mrs. Hester opened her home to neighborhood children and actively engaged in nurturing their development as community leaders and successful individuals. In addition to her work with neighborhood youth, Mrs. Hester was a highly respected community leader and active volunteer until her death in 1940. The Hester House honors her legacy by providing a safe haven for youth, as well as by promoting education and quality of life for families residing in Fifth Ward.

In 1941, a bi-racial committee established Hester House as a settlement house promoting the health, education and welfare of the African-American community in Fifth Ward. Upon incorporating with the State of Texas in 1943, the organization was re-named Julia C. Hester House. The Hester House was the first African-American organization to receive financial support from Houston’s Community Chest, which is now known as United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast.


The Hester House mission is to enhance the quality of lives in Fifth Ward and the surrounding community through programs and services promoting self-empowerment. We strive to mobilize the community to address its issues and needs. Utilizing a holistic case management model, Hester House attempts to stabilize and treat the root of the client’s problem. This approach facilitates solutions that will engage and empower the client and those in his/her family to seek social independence. Our current programs and services include infant/preschool, after school achievement, youth services, senior enrichment, basic skills and emergency basic needs including food, rent and mortgage and utility assistance.

Informational Brochure

Board of Directors

Patricia A. Roberts – Chair of the Board
Bruce Austin – First Vice Chair
Paula Harris – Second Vice Chair
Nicole Robinson – Secretary
Dr. Albert Lemons – Assistant Secretary
Yolanda Nimmer-Williams – Treasurer

2009-2010 Directors

Yvette Chargois
Juanita Elizondo
Duni Hebron
Kerrick Henny
Joy Kaplan
Tracey Prince
Genevieve Rousseve
Mark Ryan


Jennifer K. Holmes, M.S. – Executive Director
Felicia Jackson – Client Services Manager: Senior Services
Nelda Allen – Client Services Manager: Family & Social Services
Michelle Rainford – Client Services Manager: Youth Services
Geraldine Gibson – Client Services Manager: Early Childhood Services
Charles Anderson – Maintenance
Ingrid Espinoza – Accounting Clerk
Loretta Curry – Receptionist
Luis Guerrero – Specialist
Eboni Haynes – Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Samantha Sims – Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Rodney Smith – Youth Specialist
Marie Hicks-Fields – Youth Specialist
Lottie Willis – After School Specialist
LaQuera Leonard – After School Specialist
Alma Llorance – Senior Specialist
Candice Robinson – Senior Specialist