WICS logo Women in Conflict Studies (WICS)

A Scholarly Association of Women Who Engage in Scientific Research on International Conflict and Cooperation

  • WICS History and Purpose
  • Join the WICS Listserv
  • Upcoming WICS Events
  • WICS Participants
  • WICS Participants Seeking Faculty Positions
  • Contact WICS
  • Other Useful Links

WICS History and Purpose
WICS was born as a result of casual conversations among a small group of assistant professors. These women were puzzled by their perception that qualified women working in their area of research seemed to be dropping out of the discipline at a higher rate than men. They were concerned that the small numbers of women in their field did not seem to be improving at an adequate rate, so they agreed to invite some other women to gather at the 2001 annual meeting of the American Political Science Association to brainstorm about what they could do to help alter this trend. Eight faculty members participated in this initial meeting.

The group discussed a number of societal and institutional explanations that can help to account for the low numbers of women following and succeeding in this career path. They agreed that discipline-wide and university-wide women's caucuses are strong advocates for policy change on issues that disproportionately affect women. There was also agreement, however, that networking, support, and mentoring make a big difference in the probability that women choose to continue in academia and that providing opportunities for networking and mentoring was a role that a small group of women working in a similar research area could play. Their solution was WICS.

In essence, the primary goal of WICS is to help integrate women into the profession early, and to provide women with an additional source of contacts working in the same general research area with whom they can collaborate and exchange feedback on their work, as well as gain advice on professional matters, both gender related and non-gender related. Since 2001, we have hosted gatherings at major conferences at least twice per year. In addition, we maintain two listservs, one for faculty members and one for graduate students, that encourage discussion and interaction regarding professional matters.

Our members are women who study international conflict and cooperation. Most are affiliated with political science or international studies departments at academic institutions. Many are also members of the International Studies Association and/or the American Political Science Association. As of September, 2016, our faculty listserv has 278 members, and our graduate student listserv has 273 members.

We believe that a sense of community is important in integrating young women into our profession, and that women who have the opportunity to get to know other women working in their area of research are more likely to be both successful and satisfied. WICS hopes to complement the variety of venues available for professional socialization, networking, and mentoring by providing another outlet aimed to encourage and support the participation of women in our field.

Join the WICS Listserv
WICS operates two listservs, one for women in faculty positions and one for female graduate students. Both listservs serve as forums for discussion and networking as well as venues through which we coordinate and announce upcoming gatherings. We welcome all women who are engaged in scientific research on international conflict and cooperation to join the WICS listservs.

To join the WICS faculty listserv, go to https://mailman.rice.edu/mailman/listinfo/irwomen-l or email WICS@rice.edu.

To join the WICS graduate student listserv, go to https://mailman.rice.edu/mailman/listinfo/wicsgrads-l or email WICS@rice.edu.

WICS also has a facebook group.

Upcoming WICS Events
  • Journeys in World Politics: A Workshop Sponsored by the University of Iowa
    Kelly Kadera and Sara McLaughlin Mitchell are hosting a series of workshops for female scholars of world politics. The Journeys workshop brings together junior and senior women working in IR. The weekend experience is highlighted by:
    • Research presentations by junior scholars
    • Feedback on research from conference participants
    • Sessions on career and gender topics
    • Oral autobiographies by senior scholars

WICS Faculty Participants
The following women have volunteered to be listed on this website. If you would like to be listed, please contact WICS.
Lamis Abdelaaty, Syracuse University, labdelaa@maxwell.syr.edu
Emily Acevedo, California State University Los Angeles, eaceved3@calstatela.edu
Belgin San Akca, Koc University, bakca@ku.edu.tr
Susan Allen, University of Mississippi, shallen@olemiss.edu

Katherine Barbieri, University of South Carolina, katherine.barbieri@sc.edu
Naazneen H. Barma, Naval Postgraduate School, nhbarma@nps.edu
Bethany Barratt, Roosevelt University, bbarratt@roosevelt.edu
Regina Bateson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, bateson@mit.edu
A. Burcu Bayram, University of Texas at Arlington, abbayram@uta.edu
Michelle A. Benson, University at Buffalo, SUNY, mbenson2@buffalo.edu
Marie Besancon, Homes for Sudan, mariebesancon@gmail.com
Rebecca Best, University of Missouri at Kansas City, bestrh@umkc.edu
Tavishi Bhasin, Kennesaw State University, tbhasin@kennesaw.edu
Johanna K. Birnir, University of Maryland, jkbirnir@umd.edu
Shannon L. Blanton, University of Alabama at Birmingham, slblanton@uab.edu
Kanisha Bond, University of Maryland, kanisha@umd.edu
Inken von Borzyskowski, Florida State University, i.Borzyskowski@fsu.edu
Carew E. Boulding, University of Colorado, carew.boulding@colorado.edu
Jessica Maves Braithwaite, University of Arizona, jbraith@arizona.edu
Dawn Brancati, Washington University-St. Louis, brancati@wustl.edu
Marijke Breuning, University of North Texas, marijke.breuning@unt.edu
Sarah Bush, Temple University, sarah.bush@temple.edu
Charity Butcher, Kennesaw State University, cbutche2@kennesaw.edu
Rachel Bzostek, University of Texas at Tyler, rachel_bzostek@uttyler.edu

Mary Caprioli, University of Minnesota-Duluth, mcapriol@d.umn.edu
Sabine C. Carey, University of Mannheim, sabine.carey@uni-mannheim.de
Lisa Carlson, University of Idaho, lcarl@uidaho.edu
Erica Chenoweth, University of Denver, Erica.Chenoweth@du.edu
Karisa Cloward, Southern Methodist University, kcloward@smu.edu
Dara Kay Cohen, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, dara_cohen@hks.harvard.edu
Courtenay Conrad, University of California, Merced, cconrad2@ucmerced.edu
Sarah E. Croco, University of Maryland, scroco@umd.edu
Kathleen Gallagher Cunningham, University of Maryland, kgcunnin@umd.edu

Xinyuan Dai, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, xdai@uiuc.edu
Sarah Zukerman Daly, University of Notre Dame, sarahdaly@nd.edu
Vesna Danilovic, University at Buffalo, SUNY, vesna@buffalo.edu
Christina Davis, Princeton University, cldavis@princeton.edu
Ursula Daxecker, University of Amsterdam, u.daxecker@uva.nl
Erica De Bruin, Hamilton College, edebruin@hamilton.edu
Jacqueline DeMeritt, University of North Texas, jdemeritt@unt.edu
Tijen Demirel-Pegg, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), tipegg@iupui.edu
Jennifer M. Dixon, Villanova University, jennifer.m.dixon@villanova.edu
Daniela Donno, University of Pittsburgh, donno@pitt.edu

Kristine Eck, Uppsala University, kristine.eck@pcr.uu.se
Jennifer L. Erickson, Boston College, jennifer.erickson.2@bc.edu
Andrea Everett, University of California, Santa Cruz, anlevere@ucsc.edu

Songying Fang, Rice University, sfang@rice.edu
Tanisha Fazal, University of Notre Dame, tfazal@nd.edu
Katharine M. Floros, University of Illinois at Chicago, kmfloros@uic.edu
Virginia Page Fortna, Columbia University, vpf4@columbia.edu
Allison Frendak-Blume, George Mason University, afrendak@gmu.edu

Maryann Gallagher, University of Georgia, mgallag@uga.edu
Faten Ghosn, University of Arizona, fghosn@email.arizona.edu
Desha M. Girod, Georgetown University, dmg78@georgetown.edu
Theodora-Ismene Gizelis, University of Essex, tig@essex.ac.uk
Joanne Gowa, Princeton University, jgowa@princeton.edu
Kelly M. Greenhill, Tufts and Harvard Universities, kelly_greenhill@harvard.edu
Alexandra Guisinger, University of Notre Dame, guisinger.1@nd.edu

Jillienne Haglund, University of Kentucky, jill.haglund@uky.edu
Wendy L. Hansen, University of New Mexico, wlhansen@unm.edu
Heidi Hardt, University of California, Irvine, hhardt@uci.edu
Caroline A. Hartzell, Gettysburg College, chartzel@gettysburg.edu
Marina Henke, Northwestern University, marina.henke@northwestern.edu
Courtney Hillebrecht, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, chillebrecht2@unl.edu
Stephanie Hofmann, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, stephanie.hofmann@graduateinstitute.ch
Reyko Huang, Texas A&M University, rhuang@tamu.edu
Natalie Florea Hudson, University of Dayton, nhudson1@udayton.edu
Susan D. Hyde, Yale University, susan.hyde@yale.edu

Zaryab Iqbal, Pennsylvania State University, iqbal@psu.edu

Corinna Jentzsch, Leiden University, c.jentzsch@fsw.leidenuniv.nl
Kristin Johnson, University of Rhode Island, kristin_johnson@mail.uri.edu
Tana Johnson, Duke University, tana.johnson@duke.edu
Danielle Jung, Emory University, danielle.jung@emory.edu

Kelly M. Kadera, University of Iowa, kelly-kadera@uiowa.edu
Christina Kiel, Tulane University, ckiel1@tulane.edu
Anessa L. Kimball, Universite Laval, anessa.kimball@pol.ulaval.ca
Shanna A. Kirschner, Allegheny College, skirschn@allegheny.edu
Katja B. Kleinberg, Binghamton University (SUNY), kkleinbe@binghamton.edu
Jun Koga, University of Strathclyde, jun.koga@strath.ac.uk
Nina A. Kollars, Franklin and Marshall College, nkollars@fandm.edu
Sarah E. Kreps, Cornell University, sarah.kreps@cornell.edu

Janet Laible, Lehigh University, jml6@lehigh.edu
Catherine Langlois, Georgetown University, langlois@georgetown.edu
Chia-yi Lee, Nanyang Technological University, iscylee@ntu.edu.sg
Melissa M. Lee, Princeton University, melissa.lee@princeton.edu
Brett Ashley Leeds, Rice University, leeds@rice.edu
Vanessa A. Lefler, Middle Tennessee State University, Vanessa.Lefler@mtsu.edu
Janet I. Lewis, US Naval Academy, jlewis@usna.edu
Amanda A. Licht, Binghamton University, aalicht@gmail.com
Cyanne E. Loyle, Indiana University, cloyle@indiana.edu
Danielle Lupton, Colgate University, dlupton@colgate.edu

Anne Mandeville, Universite des Sciences Sociales de Toulouse, anmandevi@aol.com
Zoe Marks, University of Edinburgh, zoe.marks@ed.ac.uk
Carla Martinez Machain, Kansas State University, carlamm@ksu.edu
Aila Matanock, University of California, Berkeley, matanock@berkeley.edu
Michaela Mattes, University of California, Berkeley, m.mattes@berkeley.edu
Eleonora Mattiacci, Amherst College, emattiacci@amherst.edu
Elena McLean, University at Buffalo, SUNY, elenamcl@buffalo.edu
Roseanne McManus, Baruch College, CUNY, Roseanne.McManus@baruch.cuny.edu
Rupal Mehta, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, rmehta2@unl.edu
Molly Mooring Melin, Loyola University Chicago, mmelin@luc.edu
Shawna K. Metzger, National University of Singapore, smetzger@nus.edu.sg
Sara McLaughlin Mitchell, University of Iowa, sara-mitchell@uiowa.edu
Shweta Moorthy, Northern Illinois University, moorthy.shweta@gmail.com
Layna Mosley, University of North Carolina, mosley@unc.edu
Amanda Murdie, University of Missouri, Columbia, murdiea@missouri.edu

Desiree Nilsson, Uppsala University, desiree.nilsson@pcr.uu.se

Elena Pokalova, National Defense University, elena.pokalova@gc.ndu.edu
Sara Polo, Rice University, sara.polo@rice.edu
Emilia Justyna Powell, University of Notre Dame, epowell4@nd.edu
Kathy Powers, University of New Mexico, kpowers1@unm.edu
Lauren Prather, University of California, San Diego, lprather@ucsd.edu

Shawn L. Ramirez, Emory University, slramirez@emory.edu
Karen Rasler, Indiana University, krasler@indiana.edu
Christine Sixta Rinehart, University of Texas at El Paso, CSRinehart@utep.edu
Emily Hencken Ritter, University of California, Merced, eritter@ucmerced.edu
Maria Rost Rublee, Australian National University, m.rublee@anu.edu.au

Thania Sanchez, Yale University, thania.sanchez@yale.edu
Amanda G. Sanford, Louisiana Tech University, asanford@latech.edu
Meredith Reid Sarkees, Global Women's Leadership in International Security, sarkees@sbcglobal.net
Anne E. Sartori, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, asartori@mit.edu
Nil Satana, Bilkent University, nsatana@bilkent.edu.tr
Elizabeth N. Saunders, George Washington University, esaunder@gwu.edu
Burcu Savun, University of Pittsburgh, burcu@pitt.edu
Jamie Scalera, Georgia Southern University, jscalera@georgiasouthern.edu
Kaija E. Schilde, Boston University, kschilde@bu.edu
Megan Shannon, University of Colorado, megan.l.shannon@colorado.edu
Debra Shushan, College of William and Mary, dlshushan@wm.edu
Jacqueline M. Sievert, Western Carolina University, jmsievert@email.wcu.edu
Laura Sjoberg, University of Florida, sjoberg@ufl.edu
Heather Smith-Cannoy, Lewis & Clark College, hsmith@lclark.edu
Etel Solingen, University of California-Irvine, etel.solingen@uci.edu
Erin Snider, Texas A&M University, esnider@tamu.edu
Jessica Stanton, University of Pennsylvania, jstan@sas.upenn.edu
Emily Stull, Asian University for Women, emily.stull@auw.edu.bd
Patricia Sullivan, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, tsulli@email.unc.edu

Caitlin Talmadge, The George Washington University, ct2@gwu.edu
Monica Toft, Oxford University, monica.toft@bsg.ox.ac.uk
Jessica Trisko Darden, American University, Trisko@american.edu

Jana von Stein, Victoria University of Wellington, jana.vonstein@vuw.ac.nz

Barbara Walter, University of California, San Diego, bfwalter@ucsd.edu
Jessica L.P. Weeks, University of Wisconsin jweeks@wisc.edu
Jessica C. Weiss, Cornell University, jcweiss@gmail.com
Jenifer Whitten-Woodring, University of Massachusetts Lowell, jenifer_whittenwoodring@uml.edu
Krista E. Wiegand, University of Tennessee, kwiegand@utk.edu
Unislawa Williams, Spelman College, uwilliams@spelman.edu
Amanda E. Wooden, Bucknell University, amanda.wooden@bucknell.edu

Laliya Yakhyeva, Florida Gulf Coast University, lyakhyaeva@fgcu.edu
Kathleen Young, University of Maryland, kyoung@gvpt.umd.edu
Amy Yuen, Middlebury College, ayuen@middlebury.edu

WICS Participants Seeking Faculty Positions
The following women seek faculty positions to begin in 2017. We provide this listing for informational purposes only. The listing is not exhaustive (candidates are listed by their request), and information is provided by the candidates themselves. Click on a candidate's name to be linked to her website. If you would like to be listed as a job candidate on our site, please contact WICS.

Meredith L. Blank, (Ph.D., University of Michigan, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Militias versus Militaries: State Allocation of Force in Civil Conflict

Suparna Chaudhry, (Ph.D., Yale University, expected 2016)
Dissertation: The Assault on Democracy Assistance: Explaining State Repression of NGOs

Paige Price Cone, (Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 2016)
Dissertation: Leaders in Search of the Bomb: Institutional Incentives for Nuclear Decisions

Yao Han, (Ph.D., University College Dublin, expected 2016)
Dissertation: Beyond Dependence: Trade and Militarized Interstate Disputes

Calla Hummel, (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Disobedient Markets: Street Vendors, Enforcement, and State Intervention in Collective Action

Amira Jadoon, (Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Aiding Repression? Military and Development Aid's Impact on Conflict Severity and One-Sided Violence

Anita R. Kellogg, (Ph.D., University of California-Los Angeles, expected 2017)
Dissertation: How the Power of Business Affects the Commercial Peace: Commercial Interests, Economic Interdependence, and Militarized Conflict

Roudabeh Kishi, (Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park, 2014)
Dissertation: Does Foreign Aid Lead to Armed Civil Conflict? Examining Horizontal Inequalities and Ethnic Exclusion

Kyu Young Lee, (Ph.D., University of Iowa, expected 2017)
Dissertation: The Power of Financial Markets: How Government Bonds Expect and Affect Interstate Conflicts

Sojeong Lee, (Ph.D., University of Iowa, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Resource Dependence and Conflict

Sophie Jiseon Lee, (Ph.D., Duke University, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Guns or Roses: The Determinants of Violent and Nonviolent Strategy in Political Resistance

Victoria McGroary, (Ph.D., Brandeis University, 2017)
Dissertation: Marketing Rebellion: Explaining Choices of Violence and Nonviolence in Nationalist Movements

Shawna K. Metzger, (Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, 2013)
Dissertation: Conflict Dynamics in Militarized Interstate Disputes

Tamar Mitts, (Ph.D., Columbia University, expected 2017)
Dissertation: How Terrorism Creates Foreign Fighters: A Study of the Islamic State's Recruitment on Social Media Using Twitter Microdata

Julia C. Morse, (Ph.D., Princeton University, expected 2017)
Dissertation: From Blacklists to Bond Yields: International Institutions and Market-Driven Compliance

Sema Hande Ogutcu-Fu, (Ph.D., Binghamton University (SUNY), 2015)
Dissertation: Outside the Battlefield: Impact of Internal and External Political Dynamics on Civil Conflict Negotiations and Settlements

Carrie Reiling, (Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Advocating for Themselves: Seeking Security Through Women's Peacebuilding Organizations in Cote d'Ivoire

Felicity Vabulas, (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2013)
Dissertation: When and Why Do Intergovernmental Organizations Grant Consultative Status to NGOs?

Laila A. Wahedi, (Ph.D., Georgetown University, expected 2017)
Dissertation: Bitter Friends: Relationships Between Violent Non-State Actors

Contact WICS
If you would like to receive more information about WICS or would like to share announcements or ideas with WICS participants, please email WICS@rice.edu. You will also find individual participant contact information here.

Other Useful Links
American Political Science Association

International Studies Association

Peace Science Society

Women in International Security (WIIS)

American Association of University Women

Maintained by Brett Ashley Leeds
Send comments or questions about this site to leeds@rice.edu
Last modified September, 2016